Alisha's picture - Math & Science tutor in Richmond VA
Alisha can currently not be contacted due to prolonged inactivity.
8 am
1 pm

Schedule Legend:



Miss Alisha

Masters in Chemistry · specializes in Math & Science · 22-30 years old female

"Graduate Student Specializing in Math, Science, College Applications, Chess" 


fee: $20 (for 60 min)
years of tutoring: 5-10
students tutored: 50-100
travel distance: 20 miles
tutoring method: in-person (not online)
member for: 2 years and 9 months
rating: Green Apple


email: on file
phone: on file

Education and Qualifications

school: Hampton University, Georgia Tech, VCU

As the daughter of a lifelong educator, my love of teaching not only comes from my mother, but also from my experiences in education. There is nothing better than watching a student have an "A-ha!" moment. Helping a student gain the confidence, and showing them the tools they need to achieve in any subject they desire, is why I enjoy tutoring. As a magna cum laude graduate and current graduate student, I am dedicated to learning, and I have seen the results of perseverance, dedication, and hard work first-hand. I may be new to the WyzAnt tutoring world, but I am no stranger to tutoring. I have helped countless students through programs at Hampton University and Georgia Institute of Technology, along with students who participated in the Upward Bound and Student Support Services programs. I have also tutored for private companies, conducted workshops, and have even made learning fun by putting on science birthday parties for children and teenagers with Mad Science. With all of these opportunities, I have had the pleasure of helping students believe in themselves, as well as their skills and talents, which led to improved grades, confidence, and even college admissions. I specialize in tutoring math and science for success in school, and I assist with preparing college applications and writing college essays. As a hobby, I also enjoy introducing students to the game of chess! It promotes critical thinking and is a great activity for the brain. One of my goals for each session is to keep the student challenged, but not overwhelmed. I want to push them, but not to the point of frustration. I understand that every student is different and has different needs, and because of that, my tutoring style is personalized for each student, and I go at a pace that is comfortable for them. I hold myself to a high standard. For that reason, I always ask for feedback to help make your experience better. I have the ability to be flexible with time; however, I do have a 24-hour cancellation policy. If a session needs to be canceled, I can work with you to set up a makeup session. Other Qualifications: As a chemistry major, I had to take all math courses up to Calculus III, and maintained A's in all my courses. I have my B.S. in Chemistry and I am currently pursuing a M.S. in Forensic Chemistry. I learned how to play chess my sophomore year in college after taking a class and have been an avid chess player ever since. I enjoy the game, and play whenever I get the chance. I look forward to hearing from you and helping you to achieve what you desire in your studies! Please contact me to learn more and schedule lessons. I also offer a free consultation meeting so that we can get better acquainted!

Richmond, VA 23220

Subjects Tutored

Elementary & Junior High School
ElementaryElementary Math
Elementary ReadingElementary Science
English Language ArtsPre-school
General Ed
Common CoreEnglish
AlgebraAlgebra 1
Algebra 2Applied Math
GeometryLinear Algebra
Chemistry (General)Earth Science
Essay WritingGeneral Chemistry
GeologyPhysical Science
ProofreadingSocial Sciences
Term PaperWriting Composition
Test Prep
ACT MathACT Science